Power Racks Under $500: 6 Budget Cages Compared by Spec

Six full power cages from established brands list a price at or under $500 on their own sites as of October 19, 2026. All six use 2×2″ uprights, which is the main trade-off at this price. For muscle growth, a budget cage is usually enough: rated capacity rarely limits hypertrophy training. What it limits is attachment choice and fine adjustment.

We haven’t tested these racks hands-on. Every price and spec below comes from each brand’s online store, checked November 4, 2026, and prices on sale items change often. The Fitness Reality price comes from fitnessrealityshop.com, which also showed a “domain for sale” banner, so the table links to Costco’s listing for the same cage instead; confirm the current price there before you buy. This page has no affiliate links.

Quick picks by spec

  • Highest rated capacity under $500: Titan T-2 (850 lb rackable), $414.97 on sale.
  • Low ceilings: Titan T-2, the only one here with a 71″ height option.
  • Lowest price with J-cups and safeties included: GetRXD Pro Power Cage, $224.10 on sale, $249 regular (500 lb rating; shown unavailable when checked).
  • Finest bench adjustment: Titan T-2, with 2″ hole spacing. The REP PR-1100 and Vulcan One Bravo use 3″; the others don’t state their spacing.

Power racks under $500, compared

Rack Price (Oct 19) Uprights Holes / spacing Rated capacity Height Included
GetRXD Pro Power Cage$224.10 sale ($249 regular); shown unavailable50 x 50 mm, 2 mm wallNot stated500 lb83″J-cups, safety spotters, plate pegs
Fitness Reality XLT Power Cage (Costco listing)$299.99 at Costco, out of stock for delivery when checked2×2″1″ / not stated800 lb (ASTM tested, per listing)83″ on Costco (about 86″ on the shop listing)Safety bars, J-hooks, multi-grip pull-up bar, landmine
Vulcan One Bravo$322.99 sale ($379.99 regular)2×2″, 14-gauge1″ / 3″800 lb85″ (79″ inside)J-hooks, safety rods, multi-grip pull-up bar
Fringe Sport Garage Series Squat Cage$3492×2″, 16-gauge1″ / not stated600 lb83″Safety spotter arms, pull-up bar (1.25″ or 2″)
REP PR-1100$379.99; shown unavailable2×2″, 14-gauge1″ / 3″700 lb rackable85″J-cups, pin-pipe safeties
Titan T-2 Series$414.97 sale ($519.99 regular), 71″ black2×2″, 14-gauge1″ / 2″850 lb rackable71″ or 83″Pin/pipe safeties, J-hooks, pull-up bar

Capacity ratings come from each maker, and brands don’t all test the same way, so treat a higher number as a rough guide, not a certified comparison. Footprints, inside widths and more specs for each rack are in the Power Rack Comparison Tool; its rack finder can sort every rack in our database by starting price.

What you give up under $500

  • 2×2″ uprights. Every rack here uses them. Fewer brands make attachments for 2×2″ tubes than for 3×3″, and attachments made for one size won’t clamp the other. Our upright sizes guide explains why this matters more than any other spec when you plan to add attachments later.
  • Thinner steel and lower ratings. These racks use 14- or 16-gauge tube where premium racks use 11-gauge, and their rated capacities run 500 to 850 lb.
  • Coarser hole spacing on some. 3″ spacing means your J-cup and safety heights move in bigger jumps, which is most noticeable when setting up for bench press.

Is a budget rack enough for building muscle?

For most lifters, yes. A meta-analysis of trials that took every set to failure found that low loads (60% of one-rep max or less) and heavier loads produced similar muscle growth, while heavy loads did better for maximal strength (Schoenfeld et al., 2017). In practice, a 500 to 850 lb rating sits well above what most home lifters squat or bench for sets of 6 to 15. The rack’s job for hypertrophy is to let you train close to failure safely, so always set the safeties.

The bigger long-term question is attachments. If you expect to add a cable system, lat pulldown or lever arms, check what fits each rack before you buy. Our best power rack attachments for muscle growth guide covers which ones matter most.

For the same budget on Amazon, with the picks chosen by review depth, see our budget home gym equipment guide.

Racks we left out, and why

  • Force USA MyRack lists $299 on sale ($399 regular), but its page says it is sold out and that each attachment, including J-hooks and safeties, is sold separately.
  • Sunny Health & Fitness SF-XF920063 lists $199.99 as a squat stand; the power cage version is a $160 upgrade ($359.99). Its page lists an 800 lb capacity but doesn’t say whether that applies to the cage version.
  • Body-Solid GPR378 was previously listed at $449 on sale, but its product pages returned “not found” on October 19, so we couldn’t confirm a current price.
  • Rogue: the lowest Rogue prices near $500 are for a half rack and a wall-mount rack, not a full cage.

Before you buy

  1. Check the height against your ceiling, leaving headroom for pull-ups and pressing. The Home Gym Room Planner does the math.
  2. Confirm what’s in the box on the maker’s page. The table lists what each maker says is included, and add-ons like extra safeties or a better pull-up bar can push the total past $500.
  3. Check any attachments you plan to buy against the rack in the Rack Attachment Fit Checker.
  4. Re-check the price on the maker’s page. Several of these prices are limited-time sales.