Specs and prices checked on each maker’s own product page on November 4, 2026. Several makers were running November sales that day; where a page showed both prices, the regular price is in brackets. We have not tested these benches; the comparison is on published specs.
The best flat bench for most home gyms is a tripod or four-leg bench with a 12 inch wide pad sitting 17 to 18 inches off the floor, rated to at least 700 lb, for $150 to $250. Above that you pay for a thicker 4 inch competition pad, a wider 14 inch pad, a 3 x 3 inch frame, or a bench that folds onto the wall. Below about $130 the ratings start to include your body weight and the warranties shrink to 30 days. This guide compares 25 flat weight benches from 16 makers on the numbers that matter, explains the competition (IPF) height rule, and picks one for each need.
Flat bench or adjustable bench?
A flat bench does one position well. There is no seat gap, no adjustment wobble, and the pad is usually thicker and firmer than an adjustable bench’s back pad, which is why many lifters keep a flat bench for heavy pressing even when they own an adjustable one. It is also lighter, cheaper and easier to stand on end in a corner.
What you give up is every incline. If your program includes incline pressing, seated overhead work or chest-supported rows on an angle, start with our adjustable weight bench guide. If you are buying a bench as part of a package, the bench and weights sets guide covers what those kits actually include.
The four numbers that decide a flat bench
- Pad height. Most of the benches here put the top of the pad 16.9 to 18.5 inches from the floor. Lower lets shorter lifters plant their feet flat and drive through the floor; higher suits taller lifters and box-style step-ups. The powerlifting rule is 42 to 45 cm (16.5 to 17.7 in), so a 17 inch bench is the safe middle. Many makers list “height” or “overall height” rather than pad height; on a flat bench these are usually the same number, but check if you are between sizes.
- Pad width. 12 inches is the standard (and the IPF maximum is 32 cm, about 12.6 in). Wide 13.75 to 14.5 inch pads give broad-backed lifters more support and a more stable arch. Narrow 9.5 to 10 inch pads give your shoulder blades room to move and work better for chest-supported rows and step-ups, but feel small under a heavy bench press.
- Base and frame. A tripod (single front post) keeps your feet clear and is the usual competition layout; four legs or an H-frame are steady but take more room where your feet go. Frames run from 2 x 2 inch, 14 gauge tube to 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge. Heavier usually means steadier: the benches here weigh 18 to 84 lb.
- Weight rating, and what it means. Ratings run from 500 to 2,000 lb, and almost no maker says whether the number includes you. Marcy and CAP say theirs do (user plus load), and Valor gives both a static 1,200 lb and a dynamic 660 lb figure for its DA-4. Rogue publishes no rating on its flat bench product pages at all, only a category-level “1000lb+” claim. A bench rated 1,000 lb is plenty for anyone pressing in a home gym; a 500 lb rating that includes a 220 lb lifter is not much margin.
Do you need a competition (IPF) flat bench?
The International Powerlifting Federation’s 2026 technical rules set the bench at 42 to 45 cm high (16.5 to 17.7 in) measured to the top of the uncompressed pad, 29 to 32 cm wide (11.4 to 12.6 in) and at least 1.22 m long, flat and level (IPF Technical Rulebook, section 2.6). At international meets only benches from approved manufacturers can be used.
Two things follow for home buyers. First, “IPF spec” on a product page is the maker’s own claim about height and width, not an IPF approval; Vulcan says its Prime meets the spec and, in its own FAQ, that it is not officially certified. Second, a 48 inch pad is 121.9 cm, about a millimetre short of 1.22 m, so strictly none of the 48 inch pads here meets the length rule. If you compete, train on a bench close to meet height and width (REP FB-5000, Bells of Steel Powerlifting, Force USA Peak, Titan, Get RXd and Vulcan Prime all sit at 16.7 to 17 inches with a 12 inch pad option). If you do not compete, the rule is just a sensible default height.
How we picked
We included current flat benches from the main home gym makers plus budget benches sold on their own sites, and took every number from the maker’s product page, spec sheet or manual. We left out bench-press stations with uprights (such as the Rogue Westside bench and Valor BF-60) and anything we could only find as an old or dead listing. Where a maker’s page contradicts itself we show the page’s main figure and flag it. “Not stated” means the maker does not publish it.
25 flat weight benches compared by spec
| Bench | Price, Nov 4, 2026 | Rated capacity | Pad height | Pad width | Bench weight | Frame and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| REP FB-3000 | $149.99 | 700 lb | 18 in | 11.8 in | 40 lb | Four legs, 11 ga; 10 yr frame warranty; optional wall hanger $49.99 |
| Bells of Steel Flat Utility Bench | $149.99 ($173.99) | 661 lb | 17.3 in | 9.8 in | 37.9 lb | Four legs, 14 ga; narrow pad, 2 in thick, suits rows |
| Vulcan 3×3 Flat Bench | $144.49 ($169.99) | Not stated | 17.5 in | 12 in | 58 lb | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, gusseted legs; lifetime frame |
| Rogue Flat Utility Bench 2.0 | $175 ($195) | Not stated on product page | 18 in | 12 in | 49 lb (a reviewer reports about 40) | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga, H-style legs; made in Ohio; ships assembled |
| Fringe Sport Flat Bench | $175 | 880 lb | 17.5 in | 12 in (13 in in the description) | 64 lb | 2 x 2 in, 11 ga; 1 yr warranty |
| Titan Elite Series Single Post | $179.97 ($224.99) | 1,000 lb | 17 in | 12 in | 56 lb | Tripod, 11 ga; stores upright; 1 yr warranty |
| Vulcan Prime 3×3 | $195.49 ($229.99); 14 in pad +$65 | 2,000 lb | 17 in | 12 in (14 in option) | 67 lb (84 with 14 in pad) | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, open front with steel footplate; 4 in pad |
| Bells of Steel Powerlifting Flat Bench | $219.99 ($248.99) | 1,000 lb | 17 in | 12 in | 43.6 lb | Tripod, 12 ga; 4 in pad; 5/8 in holes take utility hooks |
| REP FB-5000 Competition | $244.99; wide pad $279.99 | 1,000 lb | 16.9 in | 12 in or 13.75 in | 62 lb (74 wide) | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga tripod; 4 in pad; Thompson Fat Pad compatible; 10 yr frame |
| TITAN Series Single Post | $249.97 ($314.99) | 1,200 lb | 17 in | 14 in | 76 lb | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga tripod; 4 in pad; stores upright; 1 yr warranty |
| Rogue Bolt Together Utility Bench | $265 | 1,000 lb (tested) | 18 in | 12 in | 51 lb | 2 x 2 in, 11 ga; ships flat; made in USA |
| Force USA Peak | $299 | 1,000 lb | 17 in | 11.6 in | 79.4 lb | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga tripod; heaviest tripod here; lifetime frame |
| Sorinex Flat Bench | $309 | Not stated | 18 in (listed as overall height) | 12 in (14 in on a 2020 spec sheet) | Not stated | Bolt-together; built to order, up to 10 to 12 weeks; lifetime structural |
| Body-Solid GFB350B | $325 | 1,000 lb | 18.5 in | 9.5 in | 42 lb | 2 x 3 in, wide base, foot levelers; stock status unclear on page |
| Rogue Monster Utility Bench 2.0 | $335; Fat Pad $365 | Not stated on product page | 17 in (15 in Shorty; add 2.25 in for Fat Pad) | 12, 12.5 or 14.5 in | 68 lb (77 in the spec table) | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga tripod; stores upright; made in USA |
| Rogue Fold Up Utility Bench | $335 | Not stated on product page | 17 in | 12 in | 57 lb with pad | Legs fold; wall hanger included, sits about 8 in off the wall |
| Valor DA-4 Fold-Up | $299 (backordered) | 1,200 lb static, 660 lb dynamic | 17.5 in | Not stated | Not stated | Fold-up legs; wall bracket, about 8.5 in off the wall |
| PRx Profile Flat Folding | $499.99 (cart sale shown) | Not stated | 17 in | 12 in | Not stated | Wall-mounted; folds to 61 in tall against the wall; 63 in into the room when down |
| Valor DA-6 / DA-3 / DA-7 | $249 / $199 / $159 | 750 / 550 / 500 lb | Not stated | 11.25 / 10.5 / 10 in | 40 / 35 / 30 lb | 12 ga; DA-6 backordered, DA-3 sold out |
| Fringe Fatty Comp | $259 / $279 (sold out) | 1,000 lb | 17.5 in | 12 or 14.5 in | About 70 lb | 11 ga; 4 in pad; 5 yr frame |
| Get RXd Competition Econ | Frame $120 plus pad $52 to $81 | 850 lb | 16.7 or 18.7 in by pad | 12.6 in (wide pad about 14.9 in) | 48 to 60 lb | 3 x 3 in, 2 mm wall; vertical stand $18 |
| Get RXd Competition Heavy | Frame $140 plus pad | 1,200+ lb | 16.7 in (Hefty pads) | 12.6 or 14.9 in | 57 to 69 lb | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga |
| Marcy SteelBody STB-10101 | $169.99 | 800 lb incl. user | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2 yr warranty |
| Marcy SB-10510 | $129.99 | 600 lb (300 user + 300 load) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2 x 4 in, 14 ga; 2 yr warranty |
| CAP Strength FM-703B | $49.99 | 500 lb incl. user | Not stated | Not stated | About 18 lb (8.3 kg) | 30 day warranty |
Prices from each maker’s page on November 4, 2026. Get RXd sells its competition benches as a frame plus a pad and did not show a combined price that day. “Not stated” means the maker does not publish the figure.
The best flat bench by need
Best under $200: REP FB-3000
$149.99 for a 700 lb rating, an 18 inch pad height, an 11.8 inch pad and a 10 year frame warranty, which is long for this price. At 40 lb it is easy to move or hang on the wall with REP’s $49.99 hanger. It does not take REP’s wide pad, and the 18 inch height suits average to tall lifters better than short ones.
Best value tripod: Titan Elite Series Single Post
$179.97 on sale for a 1,000 lb rating, 17 inch height, 12 inch pad and a tripod base that keeps your feet clear and stands upright for storage. The trade is Titan’s 1 year warranty against REP’s 10.
Best competition-style bench: REP FB-5000
3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge tripod, 16.9 inch pad height (inside the IPF range), a firm 4 inch pad in 12 or 13.75 inch widths, 1,000 lb rating and a 10 year frame warranty, from $244.99. It also takes the Thompson Fat Pad if you want to go wider later. The Bells of Steel Powerlifting Flat Bench is the cheaper alternative at $219.99 on sale with the same height, width and 4 inch pad, at 43.6 lb.
Best wide pad: TITAN Series Single Post
A 14 inch, 4 inch thick pad on a 3 x 3 inch frame rated to 1,200 lb, at $249.97 on sale and 76 lb. The Vulcan Prime 3×3 with its optional 14 inch pad comes to about $260 and carries the highest rating here (2,000 lb), with a lifetime frame warranty.
Best made in the USA: Rogue Flat Utility Bench 2.0
$175 on sale, built in Columbus, Ohio, 2 x 3 inch 11 gauge frame, 12 inch pad at 18 inches, shipped assembled. Rogue publishes no rating on the product page, only a category claim that its benches hold 1,000 lb or more. If you want a 3 x 3 inch Rogue that stands on end, the Monster Utility Bench 2.0 ($335) does, and its Shorty frame lets you run a thick Fat Pad at about 17 inches.
Best for a small or shared garage: Rogue Fold Up Utility Bench
The legs fold on two pins and the included hanger holds it about 8 inches off the wall, for $335. The PRx Profile goes further: it mounts to the wall and folds up to 61 inches tall, at $499.99. Valor’s DA-4 ($299) is the only folding bench here that states both static and dynamic ratings, but it was backordered when we checked.
Best narrow pad for rows and step-ups: Bells of Steel Flat Utility Bench
A 9.8 inch pad at 17.3 inches, 661 lb rating and under 38 lb, for $149.99 on sale. The narrow pad lets your arms hang for chest-supported rows and gives your shoulder blades room; it is less comfortable for heavy bench pressing.
What to avoid under $130
Budget benches can work for light dumbbell training, but read the rating. CAP’s $49.99 FM-703B is rated 500 lb including the user and carries a 30 day warranty; Marcy’s SB-10510 splits 600 lb into 300 lb of user and 300 lb of weight. A 200 lb lifter pressing a loaded barbell can reach those limits. Our budget home gym guide covers where cheap gear is fine and where it is not.
Will it fit your rack and room?
- Length. The pads here run 45 to 50 inches, and the frame and feet add to that. Measure the floor from the back of the rack to where your feet will land, and leave room to step around the front foot of a tripod.
- Height against your safeties. With you lying on the bench, the safeties or straps should sit just below your chest at the bottom of the press. A thicker pad raises you, so check your rack’s hole spacing gives you a setting in the right place; the Power Rack Comparison Tool lists hole spacing by rack.
- Width inside the uprights. A 14 inch pad and a tripod base fit inside most full-size racks, but on narrow racks and squat stands check that the bench base clears the rack feet. Our squat stand guide lists footprints.
- Storage. Titan’s single-post benches and the Rogue Monster Utility can stand on end; the Rogue and Valor folding benches hang 8 to 8.5 inches off the wall. The Home Gym Room Planner checks floor space and clearances for your room.
A flat bench is also the standard base for hip thrusts; our hip thrust bench guide covers the height and stability checks for that use.
Flat bench FAQ
What is the best height for a flat bench?
About 17 inches to the top of the pad suits most lifters and sits inside the powerlifting range of 16.5 to 17.7 inches. Shorter lifters who cannot plant their feet do better near 16.5 to 17 inches; taller lifters are comfortable at 18.
Is a 12 inch or 14 inch pad better?
12 inches is the standard and the competition maximum is about 12.6 inches. A 14 inch pad supports broad backs and feels more stable for heavy pressing, but it can get in the way of your shoulder blades and arms on rows and flyes.
How much weight should a flat bench hold?
For home pressing, 700 to 1,000 lb is more than enough if the rating is for the load alone. Check whether the rating includes your body weight: Marcy and CAP state that theirs do, and most makers do not say.
Is a flat bench better than an adjustable bench?
For flat pressing, often yes: no seat gap, a firmer pad and fewer moving parts. An adjustable bench is the better single purchase if you want incline work. Many home gyms end up with both.
Do I need an IPF-approved bench?
Only if you compete. For training, a bench near 17 inches tall with a 12 inch pad gives you meet-like setup. “IPF spec” on a product page is the maker’s claim, not an approval.
Can I store a flat bench upright?
Tripod benches from Titan, Rogue (Monster Utility) and others stand on end. Folding benches from Rogue, Valor and PRx hang on the wall. Four-leg benches usually need a wall hanger.
Related: adjustable weight bench guide, bench and weights sets, best squat stands, Power Rack Comparison Tool.