Disclosure: this guide contains affiliate links, and Hypertrophy Protocol may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Specs and prices checked on each maker’s page on November 4, 2026. Sale prices change often; the links open the current listing. Amazon prices are not printed here.
A power rack with a cable system turns the one piece of equipment every home gym already has into a lat pulldown, a low row and, on the better ones, a dual cable crossover. The problem is that “power rack with pulley system” now describes three very different products: an all-in-one trainer with the cables built into the frame, a serious rack sold with the maker’s own cable package, and a plain rack plus a bolt-on attachment. They range from $500 to $6,000, from 14 gauge 2 x 2 inch tube to 11 gauge 3 x 3 inch, and from a single 1:1 pulley to two 310 lb stacks. This guide compares 16 of them on published specs, explains the four numbers that decide whether the cable side is worth having, and picks one for each budget.
The three kinds of “power rack with cable system”
- All-in-one trainers. The cables, the pulleys and usually two weight stacks are part of the frame and cannot be bought without it: Force USA G3, G6 and G20 Pro, Major Fitness F22, Mikolo F4 and M4, RitFit PPC03, Fringe Sport Dane 2.0, and PRx’s plate-loaded folding functional trainer. You get everything in one order and one footprint, and you give up the ability to change racks later.
- A rack plus the maker’s cable package. REP PR-4000 or PR-5000 with Ares 2.0 or Athena, Rogue Monster Lite with the Slinger, Titan T-3 or X-3 with the Lat Tower, Bells of Steel Hydra with the Lat Pulldown and Low Row, Body-Solid GPR400 with the GLA400, Powertec’s Workbench rack with its Lat Tower, Giant Lifting’s GGPR 2.0 bundle, and the Fitness Reality and Signature Fitness cages on Amazon. The rack is a real rack first, and the cable system is a priced line item you can skip or add later.
- An attachment for a rack you already own. If the rack is already in the garage, the question is which systems fit its upright size and hole pattern. That is a separate guide (Power Rack Cable Attachments: Which Rack Mounted Pulley Systems Fit Your Rack) and the Rack Attachment Fit Checker covers fit by rack.
Four numbers that matter more than the price
- Pulley ratio. On a 2:1 system, 100 lb on the stack is 50 lb in your hand with twice the cable travel; on 1:1 it is 100 lb and the travel equals the stack travel. Neither is wrong, but a 2:1 system with a 170 lb stack tops out at 85 lb of resistance, which is a light lat pulldown for a strong lifter. Our pulley ratio explainer and the Cable Pulley Ratio Calculator convert any stack and ratio to the load you will feel.
- Stack or plates. Weight stacks change load in seconds and cost $500 to $1,000 more per side. Plate-loaded systems reach higher loads for less money but eat the plates you wanted on the bar. The plate-loaded vs weight stack guide works through the trade.
- One pulley or two. A single lat and low row station (Titan, Bells of Steel, Body-Solid, Rogue Slinger, Fitness Reality) covers pulldowns, rows, pushdowns and curls. Two adjustable columns on the front uprights (REP Ares, Athena dual, Force USA, Major F22, Mikolo, RitFit, Fringe Dane) add flyes, crossovers, single-arm work and a true functional trainer. Count the pulleys, not the handles in the box.
- Added depth. Rear-mounted plate stations add 18 to 30 inches behind the rack (Bells of Steel publishes 30 in, Body-Solid about 28 in, Fitness Reality about 18 in). Side-mount and front-trolley systems add almost nothing (REP Ares 0.6 in, Athena 6 to 8 in at the front). In a one-car garage this number decides the purchase.
How we picked
Every entry had to publish its upright size, cable type and at least one of pulley ratio or rated cable load. Prices come from the maker pages on the date above; where a maker page and a review disagree we show the maker’s number and flag the conflict rather than average them. We did not test any of these. The Power Rack Comparison Tool holds the rack-side specs for most of the frames here so you can compare two racks before you compare their cable options.
16 power racks with cable systems compared by spec
| Rack and cable system | Price, Nov 4, 2026 | Uprights | Cable type and load | Ratio | Pulleys | Footprint with cables | Rack rating | What is missing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| REP PR-4000 + Ares 2.0 | $799.94 rack + $2,999.99 Ares | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Dual 260 lb stacks (310 lb option); trolleys 450 lb | 2:1 | Two front trolleys, high to low, plus seated row footplate | 57.6 in wide; adds 0.6 in depth | 1,000 lb | Lat seat; 4-post rack needs 16 in depth and bolting |
| REP PR-5000 + Athena dual stack | $919.93 rack + $1,799.99 dual | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Dual 170 lb stacks (220 lb option); 540 lb per unit | 2:1 | One trolley per side on the sides of the rack | Adds 5 in width, 6 to 8 in front depth | 1,000 lb | Lat seat; single side $949.99 |
| Rogue RML-490 + Slinger + Lat Seat and Low Row Kit | $1,010 + $378 + $185 plate kit + $385 seat kit | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Plate-loaded (load not published); SLML-6 300 lb stack $1,339, out of stock | 1:1 | High pulley at the rear top; low row only with the kit | Extends 7 in past the upright and 7 in above | Not published | Must bolt down; not for RML-390F |
| Titan T-3 + Lat Tower | $559.97 rack + $379.97 short / $419.97 tall | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga | Plate-loaded, 300 lb | Not stated | High and low, rear mount | 42 in wide tower; depth not stated | 1,100 lb | Seat; safeties on the T-3; bolt-down racks only |
| Bells of Steel Hydra + Lat Pulldown and Low Row | $1,080.89 rack + $699.99 plate / $1,539.99 stack | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Plate-loaded or 210 lb stack; 500 lb | 1:1 | High and low, rear mount | Adds 30 in depth, 4.5 in height | 1,000 lb | Needs 43 in rear crossmember; Kraken arm from $699.99 for crossover work |
| Force USA G3 | $1,999 (preorder) | Not stated | Plate-loaded; cables tested to 2,000 lb | 2:1 | Two front columns, high to low | 78 x 60.5 x 87 in | Not stated | Tube size and gauge not published |
| Force USA G6 | $3,499 | Not stated (“heavy gauge”) | Dual 220 lb stacks | 2:1 | Two front columns, high to low, low row footplate | 72 x 64 x 91 in | Not stated | Tube size and gauge not published |
| Force USA G20 Pro | $5,999 (preorder); $1,299 lat row upgrade | Not stated | Dual 289 lb stacks; optional third 289 lb stack at 1:1 | 2:1 | Two front columns plus lat seat and low row | 79 x 67 x 91 in (95 in deep with lat row) | Not stated | Tube size and gauge not published |
| Major Fitness F22 Standard | $790.49 sale ($929.99 regular) | 2 x 3 in, 14 ga | Plate-loaded, 300 lb per side | 2:1 | Two front columns, 17 positions | 64.2 x 58.2 x 82.5 in | J-hooks 1,200 lb | PLM03 it replaces is discontinued; F22 PRO adds dual 170 lb stacks for $1,799.99 |
| Mikolo F4 | $499.99 sale | 2 x 2 in, 14 ga | Plate-loaded; 400 lb (feature copy says 500) | 1:1 | High and low, rear mount | 61.2 x 59.9 x 82.6 in | 800 lb rackable | Also on Amazon; M4 2.0 adds Smith and dual 130 lb stacks for $1,999.99 |
| RitFit PPC03 cable crossover cage | Not shown on the maker page | 2 x 2 in, gauge not stated | Plate-loaded, 165 lb per holder; 400 lb pulley | 2:1 | Two front columns, 15 positions | About 16 to 17.6 sq ft (page disagrees with itself) | 1,000 lb frame | Seat; pin and pipe safeties |
| Fringe Sport Dane 2.0 | $2,799 ($1,999 lightning deal); stainless $2,999 | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Dual 160 lb stacks (El Toro horn adds up to 300 lb) | 1:1 | Two columns, half rack | 60 x 47 x 92 in | 1,200 lb | Lat seat $249 and low row plate $149 extra |
| PRx Profile PRO Plate-Loaded Functional Trainer | $2,149.99 to $2,199.99 | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Plate-loaded, 250 lb per side | 1:1 | Two columns on a folding wall rack | 73.25 x 23.5 in, 81 to 95 in tall; folds flush | 1,000 lb | Safeties; plates |
| Body-Solid GPR400 + GLA400 | $1,040 rack + $690 lat; 150 lb stack $404 | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Plate-loaded or 150 lb stack; load not stated | Not stated | High and low, rear mount | 81 x 53 x 80 in with rack (about 28 in added) | 1,000 lb | Seat; ratio and cable rating not published |
| Powertec Workbench Power Rack + Lat Tower | $720.30 rack + $908.10 tower; 190 lb stack $512.10 | Not stated | Plate-loaded or 190 lb stack; 500 lb | Not stated | High and low, bolt-on tower | Tower 33 x 40.8 x 79.7 in | 1,000 lb | Tube size and gauge not published |
| Giant Lifting GGPR 2.0 + Lat and Low Row | $559.98 bundle ($699.98 regular) | 2 x 2 in, 14 ga | Plate-loaded, 450 lb | 1:1 | High and low, rear mount | Attachment 32 x 29.5 in; rack about 54 x 47 x 85 in | 700 lb static | Seat |
| Fitness Reality 810XLT + Lat Pulldown Attachment | Amazon, no price printed | 2 x 2 in, 14 ga | Plate-loaded, 270 lb | Not stated | High and low, rear mount | 68 x 46 x 83.25 in with the attachment (about 18 in added) | 800 lb | Seat; 2 in plate adapter sleeves |
| Signature Fitness SF-3 + Lat Pulldown Attachment | Amazon, no price printed | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga | Plate-loaded; “up to 1,000 lb” claim | Not stated | High pulley rear mount | Rack 51.2 x 38.8 x 83.5 in; attachment depth not stated | 1,500 lb | Ratio, depth and low row not published |
Read the table in two passes. The upright column sorts the real racks from the cages: 3 x 3 inch 11 gauge (REP, Rogue, Bells of Steel, Fringe, PRx, Body-Solid, Signature) will hold a heavy squat and take a full attachment range; 2 x 3 inch 11 gauge (Titan) is close; 2 x 2 inch 14 gauge (Mikolo, RitFit, Giant, Fitness Reality) and 2 x 3 inch 14 gauge (Major F22) are fine under a few hundred pounds and flex above it. The cable column then sorts the serious cable stations from the lat pulldown add-ons: anything with two adjustable columns is a functional trainer; anything with “high and low, rear mount” is a lat and row station that will not do a crossover. Force USA does not publish its tube size or gauge on any of the three G-series pages, which is unusual at that price. We are asking Force USA for those figures and will update this guide when they reply; the same request goes to Powertec and RitFit for the gauges missing from their pages.
The best power racks with a cable system by need
Best overall: REP PR-4000 with Ares 2.0
The Ares 2.0 is the only system here that gives a 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge rack two selectorized stacks, two front trolleys that run the full height of the uprights, and a seated row footplate while adding less than an inch of depth. Two 260 lb stacks at 2:1 is 130 lb per hand, upgradable to 155 lb, which covers every cable movement a hypertrophy program uses.
- PR-4000: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in holes, 1,000 lb, 80 or 93 in tall, from $799.94 with J-cups and safeties
- Ares 2.0: dual 260 lb stacks, 310 lb option; 2:1; trolleys and cables rated 450 lb; cable travel 71.3 in (80 in rack) or 94.9 in (93 in rack)
- Adds 0.6 in depth, up to 5.2 in width, 0.9 to 2.1 in height; 57.6 in wide overall
- Includes lat bar, four D-handles, two clips and two 5 lb add-on weights; $2,999.99 in every color
- Fits PR-4000 6-post in every depth and 4-post at 16 in depth (bolted or with foot extensions); also fits PR-5000
Who it suits: Anyone building the rack and the cable machine as one purchase who wants stacks rather than plates and a full-height crossover.
The trade-off: About $3,800 for the pair, and the lat seat is a separate purchase. One review measured the stack sidebar at 6 inches of added depth, not 0.6; measure your space against the larger figure.
Best plate-loaded value on a 3 x 3 rack: Bells of Steel Hydra with the Lat Pulldown and Low Row
For about $1,780 you get a true 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge rack with straps and J-cups, plus a 1:1 plate-loaded lat and low row station rated to 500 lb with a padded leg hold-down, footplate, lat bar and curl bar in the box. The 1:1 ratio means the plates you load are the load you pull, which makes it the strongest lat pulldown per dollar on this page.
- Hydra 4-post prebuilt: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in holes, 1,000 lb, 90 in tall, 43 in crossmembers; $1,080.89 sale
- Lat Pulldown and Low Row: plate-loaded $699.99 or 210 lb stack $1,539.99; 1:1; 500 lb cable capacity
- Adds 30 in depth behind the rack and 4.5 in height; needs a 43 in rear crossmember with top holes
- Included: lat bar, curl bar, padded leg crossbar, footplate
- Kraken single-side functional trainer arm from $699.99 if you want a crossover later
Who it suits: Lifters who want a heavy rack and a heavy pulldown and will load plates to get it.
The trade-off: It is a lat and row station, not a crossover, and the 30 inches of rear depth is the largest on this page. The seat appears in the photos but is not listed in the contents; confirm before ordering.
Best budget 11 gauge rack with a cable station: Titan T-3 with the Lat Tower
At $940 on sale for the rack and the short tower, the Titan T-3 is the cheapest way to get 11 gauge steel, Westside spacing, 1,100 lb of rack rating and a 300 lb plate-loaded high and low pulley with the lat bar and low row handle included.
- T-3 (82 x 24): 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 11/16 in holes, 1,100 lb per position; 54 x 32.75 in footprint; $559.97 sale
- Lat Tower: plate-loaded, 300 lb, 9.25 in sleeves, 42 in wide, 65 lb; short $379.97 or tall $419.97
- High and low positions, lat bar and low row handle included; no seat
- Fits bolt-down T-3 and X-3 racks only, not flat-foot versions or racks made before October 2021
Who it suits: Budget builds that still want real steel and a rack ecosystem.
The trade-off: Titan does not publish the ratio or the depth the tower adds, pin and pipe safeties are a separate purchase on the T-3, and the one-year warranty is the shortest here.
Best all-in-one under $1,000: Major Fitness F22
The F22 replaces the PLM03 that made Major Fitness the default budget all-in-one. For $790 on sale it ships as a complete trainer: two front cable columns with 17 positions, 300 lb per side at 2:1, sandwich J-hooks and spotter arms rated 1,200 lb, a landmine, dip bars, band pegs and a full handle set.
- 2 x 3 in, 14 gauge; 64.2 x 58.2 x 82.5 in; cable holes from 9.25 to 71.06 in
- Plate-loaded, 300 lb per side, 2:1, so 150 lb per hand at the top
- Included: sandwich J-hooks, spotter arms, landmine, footplate, lat bar, straight bar, stirrups, T-bar, band pegs, dip bars
- F22 PRO: 12 gauge front uprights, integrated dual 170 lb stacks, 400 lb per side, $1,799.99 sale
Who it suits: A one-order home gym for a spare room where the squat will stay under about 400 lb.
The trade-off: Fourteen gauge 2 x 3 tube flexes under heavy loads, the plates you load on the cable carriages come off the bar, and the brand changes model names often enough that review history does not carry over.
Cheapest cage with a working cable station: Mikolo F4
Under $500 the Mikolo F4 is a 2 x 2 inch, 14 gauge cage with a 1:1 plate-loaded lat pulldown and low row, a leg hold-down roller, J-cups, a landmine, dip bars and the handle set all in the box. It is sold on the maker site and on Amazon.
- 2 x 2 in, 14 gauge, 1 in holes; 800 lb rackable, 1,200 lb unit rating
- Plate-loaded, 1:1; 400 lb cable rating in the spec table (500 lb in the feature copy)
- 61.2 x 59.9 x 82.6 in including the rear plate carriage
- Included: J-cups, leg hold-down, lat bar, handles, rope, T-bar, landmine, dip bars
- $499.99 sale on the maker site
Who it suits: First racks, apartments and anyone who wants the pulldown without a second machine.
The trade-off: Thin tube and 1 inch holes limit it to its own attachments, and Mikolo’s page gives two heights and two cable ratings. The Upright Stiffness Calculator shows what 14 gauge 2 x 2 gives up to 11 gauge 3 x 3.
Best folding rack with cables: PRx Profile PRO Plate-Loaded Functional Trainer
The only rack here that folds to the wall with the cable columns attached. It is a 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge Profile PRO with two 1:1 plate-loaded arms rated 250 lb a side, made in Fargo, North Dakota, from domestic and imported material.
- 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge; rack 1,000 lb; pulleys 250 lb per side; 1:1; 13.75 in weight posts
- 95, 89 or 81 in tall; 73.25 in wide; 23.5 in deep; folds flush to the wall
- J-cups included; $2,199.99 with the multi-grip bar, $2,149.99 straight
- PRx also sells the Elite Pulley System, a $279.99 1:1 high and low kit for any Profile rack, with no weight source included
Who it suits: A garage that has to hold a car and a crossover.
The trade-off: Plate-loaded only, safeties are extra, and 250 lb a side at 1:1 is plenty for most but below the stacks on the Ares. See our folding squat rack guide for the wall and stud requirements.
Best premium all-in-one: Force USA G20 Pro (and the G6 for less)
The G20 Pro is the most complete single frame on the page: two 289 lb stacks at 2:1, an optional third 289 lb stack at 1:1 for the lat row, monolift hooks, roller J-hooks, spotter arms, a lat seat and a low row footplate, all included. The G6 keeps the two front columns with 220 lb stacks for $3,499.
- G20 Pro: 79 x 67 x 91 in (95 in deep with the lat row); 1,455 lb; $5,999, preorder; lat row upgrade $1,299
- G6: dual 220 lb stacks, 2:1; 72 x 64 x 91 in; $3,499; includes lat bar and low row footplate
- G3: plate-loaded, 2:1; 78 x 60.5 x 87 in; 445 lb; $1,999, sold out at the time of writing
Who it suits: A finished gym in one delivery where the budget is not the constraint.
The trade-off: Force USA does not publish upright size or gauge for any G-series rack (we have asked the company and will add the figures here when they reply), the G20 is on preorder, and at 2:1 the standard stacks give about 145 lb per hand; the third stack at 1:1 exists because of that.
Best US-made rack with a cable option: Rogue RML-490 with the Slinger
Rogue’s route is a Monster Lite rack plus the Slinger, a 1:1 pulley that mounts to the rear top of the rack and runs plates or bands, with a Lat Pulldown Seat and Low Row Kit that turns it into a full station. Everything is made in Columbus, Ohio, and it is the only cable setup here with a published seat as part of the maker’s system.
- RML-490: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in; 90.4 in tall, 53 x 53 in footprint; Monster Lite J-cups, pin and pipe safeties, band pegs and two pull-up bars included; $1,010; must bolt down
- Slinger $378 plus the Plate Load kit $185; 1:1; extends 7 in past the upright face and 7 in above the top
- Lat Pulldown Seat and Low Row Kit $385; 90 or 100 in uprights only
- SLML-6 300 lb weight stack Slinger $1,339, out of stock at the time of writing; needs 3.0-style crossmembers with a cable hole
Who it suits: Lifters who want Rogue build and warranty and a lat and row station rather than a crossover.
The trade-off: About $1,960 before plates for a single 1:1 pulley, Rogue does not publish a load rating for the Slinger, and it does not fit the RML-390F or RML-3; it fits the RML-390, 490, 690 and 4100C.
Best on Amazon: Fitness Reality 810XLT with its Lat Pulldown Attachment, or the Signature Fitness SF-3 for a 3 x 3 rack
If the order has to come from Amazon, the Fitness Reality 810XLT is the deepest-reviewed power cage on the site and its lat pulldown attachment bolts to the rear and gives a 270 lb plate-loaded high and low pulley with the lat bar and low row bar included. The Signature Fitness SF-3 is the step up: 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge, 1,500 lb, Westside spacing, UHMW J-hooks and safety straps, with its own lat pulldown attachment.
- 810XLT: 2 x 2 in, 14 gauge, 800 lb, 1 in holes; 46.5 x 50.5 x 83.5 in; with the attachment 46 x 68 x 83.25 in
- 810XLT lat attachment: 270 lb plate capacity, 39 in lat bar and 20 in low row bar; 2 in plates need adapter sleeves, not included
- SF-3: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in holes, 1,500 lb; 51.2 x 38.8 x 83.5 in; J-hooks, safety straps and multi-grip pull-up bar included
- SF-3 lat attachment: 11 gauge, fits any 3 x 3 rack with 5/8 in pins; ratio and depth not published
Who it suits: Prime shipping and a budget under what the maker-direct packages cost.
The trade-off: Neither listing publishes the pulley ratio. We do not print Amazon prices; the buttons open the current listings. 810XLT lat attachment, Signature Fitness SF-3, SF-3 lat attachment.
Which cable system fits which training
| You mainly want | Look for | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Lat pulldowns, rows, pushdowns, curls | One high and one low pulley, 1:1, plate-loaded, 300 lb or more | Bells of Steel Hydra, Titan Lat Tower, Rogue Slinger with the seat kit, Body-Solid GLA400, Giant GGPR bundle, Mikolo F4, Fitness Reality 810XLT |
| Flyes, crossovers, single-arm and rotational work | Two columns that adjust the full height, at least 150 lb per hand | REP Ares 2.0, REP Athena dual, Force USA G6 and G20, Major F22, RitFit PPC03, Fringe Dane 2.0, PRx plate-loaded trainer |
| Fast load changes between sets, several users | Weight stacks, 200 lb or more per stack, and a ratio you have checked | REP Ares 2.0 (260 or 310 lb), Force USA G20 Pro (289 lb), Bells of Steel stack version (210 lb), Fringe Dane (160 lb at 1:1), Major F22 PRO (170 lb) |
| The rack must stay 4 x 4 ft or fold | Side-mount or front-trolley systems, or a folding frame | REP Ares (adds 0.6 in), REP Athena (adds about 6 in in front), PRx Profile PRO plate-loaded trainer (folds flush) |
What to check before you buy
- Convert the stack through the ratio. A 170 lb stack at 2:1 is 85 lb in hand. Use the Cable Pulley Ratio Calculator and compare it with your heaviest pulldown.
- Measure depth with the cable station, not the rack. Add 18 to 30 inches for a rear plate station and room to load plates behind it. The garage gym layout guide covers door tracks and clearance.
- Count the plates you will tie up. A 1:1 plate-loaded pulldown at 200 lb is 200 lb of plates off the bar. Stacks cost more and solve this.
- Check bolt-down and crossmember requirements. Rogue, Titan and REP’s 4-post option require bolting; Bells of Steel needs a 43 in rear crossmember; Rogue’s stack Slinger needs 3.0-style crossmembers.
- Budget for the seat. Only Force USA G20 Pro and the Rogue seat kit publish a lat seat; everyone else expects you to use a bench or a leg hold-down.
- Confirm attachment fit if you already own the rack. Upright size and hole diameter decide it; the Rack Attachment Fit Checker lists which systems fit which racks.
Power rack with cable system FAQ
Is a power rack with a cable system worth it?
If you would otherwise buy a separate lat pulldown or functional trainer, yes: the rack-mounted version uses the floor space you already gave the rack and costs $380 to $3,000 instead of $1,500 to $5,000 for a standalone machine. If you only want pulldowns a few times a week, a $400 plate-loaded attachment is enough.
What is the best power rack with a pulley system?
For a full functional trainer on a real rack, the REP PR-4000 with Ares 2.0. For a plate-loaded lat and row station on a 3 x 3 inch rack, the Bells of Steel Hydra with its Lat Pulldown and Low Row. For a budget all-in-one, the Major Fitness F22.
Does a cable system make the rack less stable?
Rear plate stations hang weight off the back uprights, which is why Titan, Rogue and REP require bolting for several configurations. Side-mount and front-trolley systems keep the load inside the footprint. Follow the maker’s bolt-down requirement; a rack rated 1,000 lb is not rated for an unbolted 300 lb pulldown.
1:1 or 2:1 pulley on a rack?
1:1 gives full load with short travel and suits plate-loaded pulldowns and rows. 2:1 gives half the load with twice the travel and suits functional trainer columns where the cable has to reach the floor and above your head. The pulley ratio guide explains both.
Can I add a cable system to the rack I already have?
Usually, if it is 2 x 3 or 3 x 3 inch with 5/8 inch, 11/16 inch or 1 inch holes. Our rack-mounted cable attachment guide lists the systems by rack, and the fit checker covers the common brands.
How much space does a power rack with a cable crossover need?
Front-column systems stay inside the rack width plus 0.6 to 8 inches (REP) or run 72 to 79 inches wide as a complete frame (Force USA). Rear lat stations add 18 to 30 inches of depth. Height runs 80 to 95 inches, and you need pull-up clearance above that.
Which is better, a weight stack or plate-loaded cable on a rack?
Stacks for speed and multiple users, plates for load per dollar and when you already own them. See plate-loaded vs weight stack cable machines.