Disclosure: this guide contains affiliate links, and Hypertrophy Protocol may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Specs and prices checked on each maker’s page on November 4, 2026. Rogue, REP and Titan were all running November sale pricing that day, so the regular price is listed where the page showed both. Amazon prices are not printed here.
A squat stand is the smallest piece of steel that lets you squat and press a loaded barbell at home: two uprights, J-cups, and either a shared base or two separate ones. It costs $280 to $730 from the serious makers, takes about four square feet, and the good ones use the same 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge uprights as a $1,000 power rack. What it does not give you is a cage of safeties, so the whole decision comes down to how you fail a squat and whether the stand you pick can take spotter arms. This guide compares 21 squat stands and half racks on published specs, explains the three types and what each one can and cannot do, and picks the best for each budget and space.
Squat stand, half rack or power rack: what you give up at each step
- Independent squat stands are two separate uprights on their own feet (Rogue S-4, Titan T-3 Independent, GetRXd RX3 Division, Bells of Steel 2.3 inch stands). They set to any width, store against a wall, and weigh 60 to 75 lb each. Nothing ties the uprights together, so most makers do not rate them for spotter arms, pull-up bars or kipping.
- Connected squat stands share one base and usually a pull-up bar crossmember (Rogue SML-2, REP SR-4000, Titan T-3 and X-3, Bells of Steel Hydra, Fringe Garage Series, PRx Build Limitless, Vulcan V-Hammer). They stay square, take spotter arms, and sit in a 48 x 48 inch footprint. Short versions (70 to 74 inches) drop the pull-up bar for low ceilings.
- Half racks add a second pair of shorter uprights behind the first with plate storage and safety options (Rogue HR-2, Titan T-3 Half Rack, Bells of Steel Hydra Half Rack, REP Apollo). They weigh 225 to 255 lb, hold your plates, and take pin and pipe safeties on the front uprights. Several makers sell a conversion kit that turns their squat stand into one later.
- Power racks enclose you in four uprights with full-length safeties. If you squat heavy alone and dump the bar backwards or forwards, that is the only type that catches it everywhere. See power racks under $500 and the Power Rack Comparison Tool.
The rule we use: if your working squat is under about 60 percent of the stand’s rating and you can bail by dropping the bar behind you onto a platform or mats, a connected stand with spotter arms is enough. If you train to failure alone on squats, buy the rack.
The three numbers that decide which stand to buy
- Upright size and hole diameter. They decide which attachments fit for the life of the stand. 3 x 3 inch with 5/8 inch holes (Rogue Monster Lite, Bells of Steel Hydra, PRx, Signature Fitness) is the widest family. 2 x 3 inch with 5/8 inch (Rogue Infinity, Fringe) is the second. Titan uses 11/16 inch holes on 2 x 3 and 3 x 3, so Rogue and REP pins fit loosely in Titan and Titan pins do not fit 5/8 inch racks cleanly. REP’s SR-4000 is 3 x 3 with 5/8 inch holes, and GetRXd and Vulcan use 1 inch. Our upright size guide and the 5/8 vs 1 inch bolt explainer cover the families; the Rack Attachment Fit Checker lists what fits what.
- Whether spotter arms are available and whether the maker wants it bolted first. Rogue, Titan (connected stands), Bells of Steel, Fringe, PRx, GetRXd and Signature all sell or include arms. Bells of Steel says to bolt the Hydra down before using them; REP says the SR-4000 does not take safeties at all, only optional spotter arms. Independent stands from Rogue, Titan and Bells of Steel have no spotter arm listing.
- Height and ceiling. Short stands run 70 to 74 inches and need no pull-up clearance. Tall stands with a bar run 85 to 95 inches, and the bar sits at 80 to 89 inches, so you need roughly 8 feet 6 inches of ceiling for pull-ups. Bells of Steel and PRx sell 81 to 110 inch uprights to match the room.
How we picked
Every stand had to publish its upright size, steel gauge, height, footprint and rated capacity on the maker’s page. Prices are from the maker pages on the date above. Where a maker’s own page contradicts itself (several do) we show the page’s number and flag it. We did not test any of them.
21 squat stands and half racks compared by spec
| Stand | Price, Nov 4, 2026 | Type | Uprights and holes | Height | Footprint | Weight | Rating | Included | Spotter arms and bolting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rogue SML-1 | $391 sale ($435) | Connected, no bar | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in, Westside | 72.25 in | 49 x 48 in | 122 lb | 1,000+ lb | ML J-cups | ML spotter arms sold separately; floor feet optional $30 |
| Rogue SML-2 / SML-2C | $472 sale ($525); SML-2C $490 ($545) | Connected, pull-up bar | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in, Westside | 92.25 in; bar to 88 in | 49 x 48 in | 157 lb | 1,000+ lb | ML J-cups, fat/skinny or single bar | ML spotter arms sold separately; bolting not required |
| Rogue S-1 2.0 | $382 sale ($425) | Connected, no bar | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in, Westside | 72 in | 48 x 48 in | 114 lb | 1,000+ lb tested | Infinity J-cups | Infinity spotter arms sold separately |
| Rogue S-2 2.0 | $436 sale ($485) | Connected, pull-up bar | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in, Westside | 92 in; bar to 88 in | 48 x 48 in | 146 lb | 1,000+ lb | Infinity J-cups, fat/skinny bar | Infinity spotter arms, landmine, Matador compatible |
| Rogue S-4 2.0 | $382 sale ($425) | Independent pair | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in, Westside | 72 in | 26 x 22 in each | 130 lb pair | Tested to 1,000 lb | Low-profile Infinity J-cups | No spotter arm listing; rubber feet, not bolted |
| REP SR-4000 | $589.99 bare 96 in; $755.97 with bar and J-cups | Connected flat foot, pull-up bar | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in; 1 in bench zone | 96 or 103 in | 52.4 x 71.4 in | Not published | 1,000 lb | Builder: bar and J-cup choice | No safeties (FAQ); 4000 spotter arms optional; no bolting needed |
| Titan T-3 Independent | $359.97 sale ($449.99); $399.97 with bar | Independent pair | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga, 11/16 in, Westside | 72.5 in | 24 x 25 in each | 119 lb pair | 1,000 lb | UHMW J-hooks, rubber feet | No spotter arm listing; no bolting; optional 42 in bar is not structural |
| Titan T-3 Short / Tall | $300.97 ($379.99) / $354.97 ($444.99) | Connected; tall has bar | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga, 11/16 in, Westside | 73.5 / 92.5 in | 47 x 48 in | 144 / 140 lb (as listed) | 1,000 lb | UHMW J-hooks; tall adds 42 in bar | T-3 spotter arms sold separately; no bolting; 1 yr warranty |
| Titan X-3 Short / Tall | $354.97 ($444.99) / $419.97 ($529.99) | Connected; tall has bar | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 11/16 in, Westside | 71.25 / 93 in | 48 x 48 in | 130 / 149 lb | 1,000 lb | UHMW J-hooks; tall adds bar | X-3 spotter arms sold separately; no bolting |
| Bells of Steel Hydra Squat Stand | $716.95 prebuilt; builder from $564.99 | Connected flat foot, pull-up bar | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in; 1 and 2 in | 74, 86, 92 or 110 in | 49 x 56 or 62 in | About 177 lb shipped | 1,000 lb | 90 in uprights, 62 in feet, 43 in bar, J-cups | Spotter arms separate; bolt down before using them |
| Bells of Steel Squat Stands 2.3 in | $299.99 | Independent pair, wheels | 2.3 x 2.3 in, 5/8 in; 1 and 2 in | 72.5 in | 29 x 24 in each | 73 lb pair | 600 lb | 2 J-cups | No spotter arm listing |
| Fringe Sport Garage Series | $349 | Connected, pull-up bar | 2 x 3 in, 12 ga, 5/8 in, Westside | 85 in | 45 x 47 in | 80 lb | 600 lb rack, 450 lb bar | J-cups, bar | 2 x 3 spotter arms +$116; bolt option, recommended for kipping; 1 yr warranty |
| PRx Build Limitless | $725.99 | Connected flat foot, multi-grip bar | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in; 1 in bench zone | 81, 89 or 95 in | 48 x 61 in | Not published | 1,000 lb | J-cups, multi-grip bar | Upgrades to half rack or cage; anchoring recommended, hardware not included; made in Fargo, ND |
| Vulcan V-Hammer II | $730.99 | Connected, pull-up bar | 2.5 x 2.5 in, 8 ga, 1 in, 2 in spacing | 93.5 in | 48 x 50 in | 258 lb | “Unlimited” | Sandwich J-hooks, 25 in spotter arms, adjustable bar | Arms included; no bolting needed; proprietary 2.5 in family; lifetime warranty |
| GetRXd RX3 Division | $280 | Independent pair, long front legs | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 1 in, 2 in spacing | 71 or 81 in | 41 in deep each | 141 to 143 lb pair | 1,000 lb | RX3 J-cups, end caps | RX3 spotter arms +$100 each; bolting not stated |
| Eleiko Light Squat Stand | $1,105 | Adjustable stand, rollers | Not published | 47 in | 29.5 x 51.2 in | 51.4 lb | Not published | Roller J-cups | No arms or bar; made in Sweden; the premium reference, not a rack |
| Rogue HR-2 Half Rack | $688 sale ($765); 108 in +$112 | Half rack | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in, Westside | 92.25 or 110.25 in | 48 x 49 in | 225 to 255 lb | Not stated on page | ML J-cups, 43 in skinny bar | Pin and pipe safeties optional; ML spotter arms fit; no bolting needed; $294 kit converts an SML stand |
| Titan T-3 Half Rack | $604.97 sale ($759.99) | Half rack | 2 x 3 in, 11 ga, 11/16 in, Westside | 92.5 in; bar to 89 in | 47 x 48 in | 230 lb | 1,000 lb | J-hooks, bar, four plate holders | T-3 spotter arms separate; conversion kit $162.97 to $279.97 |
| Bells of Steel Hydra Half Rack | From $913.99 | Half rack, flat foot | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 5/8 in; 1 and 2 in | 74 to 110 in | 49 x 56 or 62 in | Not published | 1,000 lb | Builder | No bolting needed; conversion kits from $319.99 |
| REP Apollo Half Rack | From $919.96 | Half rack, flat foot | 3 x 3 in, 11 ga, 1 in, 2 in spacing | 80 or 93 in | 52.4 x 48 in | Not published | 1,000 lb | Builder | No bolting required; 5000-series attachments |
| REP PR-1100 (compact cage) | $379.99 | 4-post cage for comparison | 2 x 2 in, 14 ga, 1 in, 3 in spacing | 85 in | 58.1 x 48.5 in | 130 lb | 700 lb | Pin and pipe safeties, J-cups, multi-grip bar | Cannot be bolted; no kipping |
Three patterns in the table. First, the $280 to $490 band is where the real stands live: Rogue, Titan, GetRXd and Bells of Steel all sell 11 gauge steel there, and the price difference is mostly the pull-up bar and where it is made. Second, independent stands are consistently the ones with no spotter arm listing, which is the trade for their small footprint. Third, the half racks cost $600 to $920, and at that price a full power cage with safeties is often cheaper; a half rack earns its place only when you want the stand’s open front with plate storage behind it.
The best squat stands by need
Best overall: Rogue SML-2 Monster Lite Squat Stand (SML-2C in colors)
The SML-2 is a 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge Monster Lite stand with Westside spacing, a pull-up bar, a 49 x 48 inch base that does not need bolting, and the whole Monster Lite attachment catalog behind it, including spotter arms and a $294 kit that turns it into the HR-2 half rack later. Made in Columbus, Ohio, lifetime guarantee.
- 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 5/8 in holes; Westside through the bench and pull zone
- 92.25 in tall; pull-up bar to 80.5 in (fat/skinny) or 88 in (single); 49 x 48 in; 157 lb
- 1,000+ lb; Monster Lite J-cups and your choice of bar included
- SML-2 $472 sale ($525); SML-2C $490 ($545) in 10 colors with numbered uprights option
- SML-1 is the same stand at 72.25 in with no bar, $391 ($435)
Who it suits: Anyone who wants one stand that will still be the right stand in ten years.
The trade-off: Spotter arms are extra, and the 108 inch SML-3 ($595) is the only version with a bar above 88 inches. Rogue sells the optional floor feet for $30 if you want to anchor it.
Best flat-foot stand for pull-ups: REP SR-4000
The SR-4000 uses a long flat-foot base with rear weight horns instead of a 48 inch square, which is why REP says it needs no bolting and is built for kipping pull-ups. It is 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge with 5/8 inch holes and 1 inch spacing through the bench zone, in 96 or 103 inch heights.
- 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in holes; 1 in spacing in the bench area, 2 in elsewhere; numbered uprights
- 96 or 103 in tall; 52.4 in wide, 71.4 in deep; 1,000 lb rackable
- Bare rack $589.99 (96 in) or $639.99 (103 in); with 1.25 in bar and Flat Sandwich J-cups 2.0 $755.97
- Takes 4000-series upright attachments; side-of-base attachments need 5000-series versions
Who it suits: Lifters who do real pull-up volume and do not want to drill the slab.
The trade-off: REP’s FAQ says it is not compatible with safeties, only optional spotter arms, and it does not take REP’s cable attachments, front foot extension or multi-grip bar. The 71.4 inch depth is the largest of any stand here. Weight is not published.
Best budget connected stand: Titan T-3 Series Squat Stand (Short or Tall)
At $300.97 for the short and $354.97 for the tall on sale, the T-3 stand gives 2 x 3 inch, 11 gauge uprights, Westside spacing, a 47 x 48 inch base, a 1,000 lb rating and (on the tall) a 42 inch pull-up bar. Titan sells spotter arms, a half rack conversion kit and the whole T-3 attachment line for it.
- 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 11/16 in holes; Westside spacing; 6 in side spacing
- Short: 73.5 in, no bar, 144 lb as listed; Tall: 92.5 in, bar to 89 in, 140 lb as listed
- 47 x 48 in base; walk-in 41 x 42 in; 1,000 lb; UHMW J-hooks included
- T-3 spotter arms sold separately; no bolting required; half rack kit $162.97 to $279.97
Who it suits: Budget builds that still want 11 gauge steel and an attachment ecosystem.
The trade-off: The 11/16 inch holes mean Rogue and REP 5/8 inch attachments fit loosely; stick to Titan parts (see Titan X-3 vs T-3 attachments). The one-year warranty is the shortest here, and Titan lists the short stand as heavier than the tall one, which is probably a page error.
Best independent stands: Rogue S-4 2.0, Titan T-3 Independent and GetRXd RX3 Division
If the stands have to slide out of the way or set to an odd width, three pairs stand out. The Rogue S-4 ($382 sale) is 2 x 3 inch Infinity on 7 gauge H-bases, tested to 1,000 lb and made in the USA. The Titan T-3 Independent ($359.97 sale) is 2 x 3 inch, 11 gauge on 24 x 25 inch bases with Westside spacing. The GetRXd RX3 Division ($280) is the cheapest 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge pair on the page, with 1 inch holes, two heights and a $100 spotter arm option.
- Rogue S-4: 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in; 72 in; 26 x 22 in H-bases; 130 lb pair; low-profile J-cups; rubber feet
- Titan T-3 Independent: 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 11/16 in; 72.5 in; 24 x 25 in bases; 119 lb pair; optional 42 in bar that Titan says is not structural
- GetRXd RX3 Division: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 1 in holes; 71 or 81 in; 41 in deep; 141 to 143 lb pair; spotter arms $100 each
Who it suits: Shared rooms, bench-and-squat setups at different widths, and anyone who moves the stands between sessions.
The trade-off: Rogue and Titan list no spotter arms for their independent pairs and none of the three has a pull-up bar. Independent stands can shift under a missed rerack; keep the J-cups low and the plates light, or buy the GetRXd arms.
Best stand that grows into a rack: Bells of Steel Hydra Squat Stand (and PRx Build Limitless)
The Hydra is a true 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge flat-foot stand with 5/8 inch holes that accepts Monster Lite-class attachments, comes in four heights from 74 to 110 inches, and converts to a half rack or full rack with kits. The PRx Build Limitless ($725.99, made in Fargo) is the same idea with a multi-grip bar and three heights from 81 to 95 inches.
- Hydra prebuilt $716.95: 90 in uprights, 62 in flat feet, 43 in straight bar, 43 in crossmember, J-cups; builder from $564.99
- 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in; 1 and 2 in spacing; 49 in wide, 56 or 62 in deep; 1,000 lb; limited lifetime warranty
- Half rack conversion from $319.99; Hydra Half Rack builder from $913.99
- PRx Build Limitless: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in; 81, 89 or 95 in; 48 x 61 in; 1,000 lb; $725.99; upgrades to half rack or cage
Who it suits: A first stand that you know will become a rack when the room or the budget allows.
The trade-off: Bells of Steel wants the Hydra bolted before you use spotter arms or kip on the bar, and its collection page shows lower prices than the product page, so confirm the configuration before you order. PRx recommends anchoring and does not include the hardware.
Best half rack: Rogue HR-2 (Titan T-3 Half Rack for less)
The HR-2 adds a second pair of 70 or 90 inch Monster Lite uprights behind the SML stand, with 17 inch crossmembers, plate storage and the option of 16 inch pin and pipe safeties, and it does not need bolting. The Titan T-3 Half Rack ($604.97 sale) does the same in 2 x 3 inch with four plate holders included.
- HR-2: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 5/8 in, Westside; 92.25 or 110.25 in; 48 x 49 in; 225 to 255 lb; ML J-cups and 43 in skinny bar included
- $688 sale ($765) in the 90/70 configuration; 108 in uprights +$112; pin and pipe safeties and plate storage optional
- Titan T-3 Half Rack: 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge, 11/16 in; 92.5 in; 47 x 48 in; 230 lb; 1,000 lb; four 11.5 in plate holders included; $604.97 ($759.99)
Who it suits: Lifters who want plate storage on the stand and short safeties for bench and rack pulls without a full cage.
The trade-off: Rogue does not state a capacity on the HR-2 page, safeties are extra on both, and at $688 to $765 a four-post cage with full safeties costs about the same. A half rack is the right buy only if the open front matters to you.
Best on Amazon and under $200: CAP Power Rack Stand, Sunny Health squat stand and Yes4All adjustable stands
The budget end is thin-wall 2 x 2 inch steel rated 500 to 600 lb. The CAP Power Rack Stand ($119.99 on CAP’s site) is the one behind the “cap squat rack” searches: 46 x 30 x 85 inches, 500 lb, with J-cups, safety catches, a pull-up bar and plate storage built in. Sunny Health’s Essential Power Squat Stand ($199.99) is 86.6 inches with 22 positions, band posts and plate posts at 61.9 lb. Yes4All’s adjustable pair sets from 43 to 62 inches tall and 28 to 46 inches wide. The Signature Fitness SF-SS1 is the Amazon brand’s 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge stand with spotter arms and a multi-grip bar included, 1,000 lb, when it is in stock.
- CAP Power Rack Stand: 46 x 30 x 85 in; 500 lb; J-cups, safety catches, pull-up bar, bar and plate storage; page lists both 11 and 14 gauge and 11 and 12 gauge
- Sunny Health SF-XF920063: 2 x 2 in; 86.6 in; 53.1 x 37.2 in; 61.9 lb; 500 lb bar, 300 lb pull-up bar; can be bolted; 1 yr frame warranty
- Yes4All adjustable stands: 43 to 62 in tall, 28 to 46 in wide; 500 lb in the bullets, 600 lb in the title; plate peg each side
- Signature Fitness SF-SS1: 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 82.7 x 49.2 x 48.8 in; 155 lb; 1,000 lb; J-hooks, spotter arms and multi-grip bar included; $329.99 on the maker site, out of stock there
Who it suits: Beginners whose squat and bench will stay in the low hundreds and who want everything in one box.
The trade-off: Thin steel flexes and the listings contradict themselves on gauge and capacity. We do not print Amazon prices; the buttons open the current listings: Signature Fitness SF-SS1, Yes4All adjustable stands. The Upright Stiffness Calculator shows what 14 gauge 2 x 2 gives up to 11 gauge 3 x 3, and the budget home gym guide covers the rest of a cheap build.
How to use a squat stand safely without a cage
- Buy the spotter arms if the maker sells them. Rogue, Titan (connected stands), Bells of Steel, Fringe, GetRXd, Vulcan (included) and Signature (included). Set them one hole below your lowest bar position on bench and at parallel on squats.
- Bolt it if the maker says to. Bells of Steel: before spotter arms or chin-up PRs. Fringe: for kipping. PRx: recommended. Rogue, Titan and REP flat-foot stands: not required. Independent stands are never bolted, which is why they do not get arms.
- Learn to bail backwards. On a stand with no rear uprights the bar can go behind you; a deadlift platform or mats behind the stand and bumper plates make that a non-event. Never bail forward into the uprights.
- Keep the J-cups low on independent stands. The higher the bar, the more a side load tips a 60 lb stand. Rack at mid-chest, not shoulder height.
- Match the stand to the room. A 48 x 48 inch base plus a 7 foot bar needs about 8 feet of width and 6 feet of depth to load plates. The 10 x 10 home gym layout shows where a stand fits with a bench. If the floor must stay clear for a car, a folding squat rack is the other option.
Squat stand FAQ
Is a squat stand safe without a spotter?
With spotter arms set correctly and a bail plan, yes for most training. Without arms, a stand gives you nothing if you fail a squat or a bench. Independent stands from Rogue, Titan and Bells of Steel are not listed as taking spotter arms, so treat them as stands for sub-maximal work.
Squat stand vs power rack: which should I buy?
A power rack if you squat heavy alone and train close to failure, or if the ceiling allows and the floor space is there. A squat stand if the room is small, the squat stays well under the rating, and you want the open front for cleans, presses and benching. Half racks sit between: plate storage and short safeties, but no cage. See why 3 x 3 steel racks are the standard for the steel side of the decision.
What is the best squat stand for a home gym?
The Rogue SML-2 for a long-term stand with the widest attachment range; the Titan T-3 Squat Stand for the same shape at $300 to $355; the REP SR-4000 for a flat-foot stand built for pull-ups; the GetRXd RX3 Division for the cheapest 3 x 3 inch independent pair.
Do squat stands need to be bolted down?
Rogue, Titan and REP say their connected and flat-foot stands do not. Bells of Steel says bolt the Hydra before using spotter arms or doing chin-up PRs. Fringe and PRx recommend anchoring for kipping. Independent stands are not bolted; they rely on rubber feet and their own weight.
Can I add safeties to a squat stand?
Spotter arms, yes on most connected stands (sold separately, $100 to $200 a pair). Full-length pin and pipe safeties need a half rack or power rack, because they span front and rear uprights. REP says the SR-4000 does not take safeties at all, only spotter arms.
How much does a squat stand weigh and hold?
The 11 gauge stands weigh 114 to 157 lb connected or 119 to 143 lb per pair, and are rated 1,000 lb. The 2 x 2 inch budget stands weigh 60 to 80 lb and are rated 500 to 600 lb. Vulcan’s 8 gauge V-Hammer weighs 258 lb and is rated “unlimited.”
Which squat stand takes the most attachments?
Any 3 x 3 inch stand with 5/8 inch holes: Rogue SML series, Bells of Steel Hydra, PRx Build Limitless and Signature Fitness. Titan’s 11/16 inch holes and GetRXd and Vulcan’s 1 inch holes keep you inside their own lines. The Rack Attachment Fit Checker has the list.