Best Folding Squat Racks for a Home Gym: 12 Wall-Mounted Racks Compared by Spec

Disclosure: this guide contains affiliate links, and Hypertrophy Protocol may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Specs and prices checked on each maker’s page on November 4, 2026. Sale prices change often; the links open the current listing.

A folding squat rack bolts to the wall, swings out to about two feet or three and a half feet when you lift, and folds back to a few inches when you are done. For a garage that still has to hold a car, or a spare room that cannot give up a 4 x 4 ft cage, it is the only way to get a real barbell station. The catch is that “folding rack” now covers everything from a 16 gauge 2 x 2 inch frame with 1 inch holes to an 11 gauge 3 x 3 inch Monster Lite rack, and the maker pages rarely say which parts you have to buy separately. This guide compares twelve wall-mounted folding racks on published specs, picks one for each budget, and lists what to check on your wall before any of them will work.

How a folding squat rack mounts, and why the wall matters more than the rack

Every rack here hangs on two wall brackets per upright. The brackets either lag into wood studs directly (PRx, Rogue) or into a wooden stringer, a 2 x 10 or similar board you lag to the studs first and then bolt the rack to (REP, Bells of Steel, Synergee, Titan). A stringer spreads the load over more studs, lets you hit studs at any spacing, and is the fix for walls where the studs are not where the rack brackets want them. Most makers do not include the board.

  • Studs. Rogue asks for four wood studs; Bells of Steel asks for a stringer tied into at least four. None of these racks are rated for drywall anchors or metal studs without a stringer.
  • Concrete or block. REP ships concrete expansion bolts for the PR-4100; others treat masonry as a stringer-first job. Ask the maker before buying wedge anchors.
  • Depth. Most lines come in two depths, about 21 inches or about 41 inches from the wall. The short version is a squat and press station; the long version fits a bench inside the uprights and gives room to bail a squat forward.
  • Folded depth. The number that decides whether the car fits: 2 inches (Mikolo), 4 inches (PRx), under 5 inches (Rogue, Titan, Synergee), 6 inches (REP 21.5 inch). REP’s 41 inch version folds sideways instead and sits 24 inches out.
  • Ceiling. Uprights run 79 to 95 inches, and you need pull-up clearance above the bar. PRx publishes recommended ceilings of 99, 107 and 113 inches for its three heights; use the same logic for the rest. Our garage gym layout guide covers door tracks and beams.
wallFolded: 2 to 6 in21 in from the wall41 in from the wallExtended for squats and presses41 in version fits a bench insideand gives room to bail forward21 in version folds flatterand suits squat and press only
Side view. Folded, the uprights sit 2 to 6 inches off the wall; swung out, they stand 21 or 41 inches from it. The deeper version fits a bench but needs more clear floor when folded sideways.

How we picked

Every rack had to publish its upright size and steel gauge, hole size, height and at least one depth. We took prices from the maker pages on the day above, flagged every spec that a page contradicts, and did not test any of them. The Power Rack Comparison Tool holds the same records, including the folded depth and mounting notes, so you can put any two side by side. Where a maker does not publish a capacity (Rogue does not for either fold-back rack) we say so rather than fill in a number.

12 folding squat racks compared by spec

Rack Price, Nov 4, 2026 Uprights and steel Holes and spacing Height Depth from wall (folded) Rated load Mount and what is missing
Rogue RML-3W $544 sale ($605 regular) 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge 5/8 in, Westside in the bench zone 90.4 in 24.75 or 43.75 in (under 5 in) Not published 4 wood studs; stringers optional; safeties not included
Rogue R-3W $450 to $500 by depth 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge 5/8 in, Westside in the bench zone 90.4 in 24 or 44 in (under 5 in) Not published 4 wood studs; stringers optional; safeties not included
PRx Profile PRO From about $1,050; $1,099.99 as shown 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge 5/8 in, 1 in in the bench zone 81, 89 or 95 in Not stated (4 in) 1,000 lb Direct to 16 or 24 in studs; hydraulic shocks; safeties not included
REP PR-4100 From $499.99 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge Not stated, 1 in in the bench zone 92.3 in 21.5 in (6 in) or 41 in (folds sideways to 24 in) 1,000 lb Stringer, board not included; concrete bolts included
Titan T-3 Folding $399.97 sale ($499.99 regular), up to $499.97 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge 11/16 in, Westside 82.4 or 91 in 22.5 in on the 21 in version; 41 in version (5 in) 1,100 lb Wall hardware not included; 1 year warranty
Bells of Steel Folding Rack $399.99 sale ($465.99 regular) 2.3 x 2.3 in (60 mm); page says both 11 and 12 gauge 5/8 in in the title, 1 in in the body 91 in 22 or 24 in depending on the line on the page (not stated) 600 lb static Single 2 x 10 stringer into 4 studs, not included
GetRXd Wall-Mount Folding From $395 (Oct check) 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge Not stated; 18 levels 92 in 25 in (not stated) 1,000 lb Wall mount
Giant Wall Rack 3x $476.99 sale ($529.99 regular, Oct check) 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge 1 in, 2 in spacing 92 in 21.5 in (not stated) 1,000 lb if installed correctly 8 lag bolts to the wall
Valor BD-20 $499 (Oct check) 2.5 x 2.5 in, 11 gauge 1 in, 2 in spacing 94.5 in 21.5 in (not stated) 750 lb Wall mount
Synergee 2200 $319.95 2 x 2 in, 16 gauge 1 in; 2 in per the sheet, 4 in per the FAQ 79 or 95 in 21 or 41 in (5.25 in) 750 lb Studs; stringer recommended, not included
Torque wall-mounted $549 sale ($1,098 regular, Oct check) 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge Not stated 90 in 24 in (not stated) Not stated Wall mount
Mikolo 2 x 2 folding (Amazon) Check current price on Amazon 2 x 2 in, 13 gauge Not stated 85.8 in 19.7 in (2 in) 1,000 lb per the listing Stringer, hardware and safety catches included

Three things stand out in the table. First, only PRx, Rogue and REP combine 3 x 3 inch 11 gauge uprights with 5/8 inch or 1 inch bench-zone spacing, which is what makes a folding rack feel like a fixed one. Second, almost nobody includes safeties; spotter arms are a separate purchase on every rack here except the Mikolo. Third, the cheapest racks are also the ones whose pages contradict themselves, so the Bells of Steel and Synergee rows carry the conflicts rather than a guess.

The best folding squat racks by need

Best overall: Rogue RML-3W Fold Back Wall Mount Rack

The RML-3W is the folding rack the others are measured against: Monster Lite 3 x 3 inch, 11 gauge uprights, 5/8 inch holes with Westside spacing, under 5 inches from the wall when folded, made in Columbus, Ohio, with a lifetime guarantee and the deepest review history of any rack on this page.

  • 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 5/8 in holes; Westside spacing through the bench and pull zone, 2 in above and below
  • 90.4 in tall; 24.75 in (21.5 in inside) or 43.75 in (41.5 in inside) from the wall; folds to under 5 in
  • 43 in inside the uprights, 49 in outside, 56.2 in across the wall brackets
  • Included: Monster Lite J-cups, quick-attach pull-up bar, four brackets, detent and hitch pins, UHMW floor caps; 163 or 190 lb
  • Mounts to four wood studs; optional pre-slotted stringer pair

Who it suits: Anyone who wants a folding rack that takes the full Monster Lite attachment range and will not be replaced later.

The trade-off: Rogue does not publish a weight capacity for it, the sale price is for the base configuration, and spotter arms are extra. Check which depth the sale price applies to before ordering.

See it on the maker page

Best value 3 x 3: REP PR-4100 Folding Squat Rack

The PR-4100 matches the Rogue on upright size and gauge, publishes a 1,000 lb rating, and starts at $499.99 with the pull-up bar built in. The 41 inch version folds sideways rather than in, which keeps the uprights full depth but leaves it 24 inches off the wall when stowed.

  • 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 1 in spacing through the bench and pull zone, 2 in elsewhere
  • 92.3 in tall; 21.5 in or 41 in deep; 42.1 in inside, 48 in overall
  • 21.5 in version folds to 6 in; 41 in version folds left or right to 24 in
  • 1,000 lb rated; built-in 1.25 in pull-up bar
  • Stringer mount with lag and bolt hardware included; the wood is not; concrete expansion bolts included

Who it suits: Lifters who want 3 x 3 inch attachments and a published rating for less than the Rogue.

The trade-off: Hole diameter, weight and warranty are not on the product page, and J-cups are not itemized as included. Ask before you order attachments. The Rack Attachment Fit Checker lists what REP sells for it.

See it on the maker page

Best premium and most height options: PRx Profile PRO Folding Squat Rack

PRx invented the category and the Profile PRO is still the only folding rack with three heights, hydraulic shocks that lift the uprights for you, and a 4 inch folded depth. It mounts straight to studs with no stringer, which is either a convenience or a constraint depending on your wall.

  • 3 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 5/8 in holes; 2 in spacing with 1 in through the bench zone
  • 81, 89 or 95 in tall; PRx recommends 99, 107 or 113 in ceilings
  • 53 in total width, 48 in outside the uprights; folds to 4 in from the wall
  • 1,000 lb rated; UHMW-lined J-cups and a 42 in straight or multi-grip pull-up bar included
  • Brackets mount direct to 16 or 24 in on-center wood studs; ledger board if studs are uneven; limited lifetime warranty on the frame; made in the USA with domestic and imported parts

Who it suits: Low ceilings (the 81 in version), uneven garages, and anyone who wants the rack to do the lifting when it folds.

The trade-off: It costs about twice the REP, extended depth is not published, and safeties are extra. The 2 x 3 inch Profile ONE is discontinued; PRx’s current cheaper line is the Profile CORE.

See it on the maker page

Best budget with Westside spacing: Titan T-3 Series Folding Power Rack

At $399.97 on sale the T-3 folding rack gives you 11 gauge 2 x 3 inch uprights, Westside spacing and the highest published rating here, 1,100 lb. It is the cheapest rack on the page that takes a real attachment ecosystem (Titan’s T-3 line; check 11/16 inch hole fit).

  • 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 11/16 in holes; Westside spacing
  • 82.4 in (pull-up bar at 80 in) or 91 in tall; 21 in version sits 22.5 in from the wall; 41 in version also sold; folds to 5 in
  • 42 in inside, 46 in overall; 140 lb
  • 1,100 lb rated; standard J-hooks and 1.25 in pull-up bar included
  • Four SKUs: 82 or 91 in tall, 21 or 41 in deep

Who it suits: Budget builds that still want 11 gauge steel and precise bench safeties.

The trade-off: Wall mounting hardware is not included, the warranty is one year, and the 91 inch and 41 inch specs only show on the page once you select them. See the Titan attachment fit guide for which add-ons share the 2 x 3 inch, 11/16 inch standard.

See it on the maker page

Step-down from the RML-3W: Rogue R-3W (Infinity)

Same wall geometry, same Westside spacing and same lifetime guarantee as the RML-3W on 2 x 3 inch Infinity uprights for $450 to $500. If you already own Infinity attachments or do not need 3 x 3, it is the cheapest US-made folding rack.

  • 2 x 3 in, 11 gauge; 5/8 in holes; Westside spacing
  • 90.4 in tall; 24 in (20.5 in inside) or 44 in (40.5 in inside) from the wall; folds to under 5 in
  • 43 in inside, 47 in outside, 55 in across the wall; 140 or 160 lb
  • Infinity J-cups, quick-attach pull-up bar, brackets, pins and floor caps included

Who it suits: Owners of Infinity-series attachments, and anyone who wants Rogue build quality under $500.

The trade-off: No published capacity, and the two prices on the page are not labeled by depth. Confirm before you check out.

See it on the maker page

Cheapest that is still a rack: Synergee 2200 and the Mikolo folding rack on Amazon

At the bottom of the price range you are into 2 x 2 inch tube. The Synergee 2200 ($319.95) is 16 gauge with 1 inch holes and two heights, and the Mikolo folding rack on Amazon is 13 gauge and the only rack here that ships the stringer, the hardware and a set of safety catches in the box.

  • Synergee: 2 x 2 in, 16 gauge; 1 in holes; 79 or 95 in; 21 or 41 in deep; folds to 5.25 in; 750 lb; stringer recommended, not included
  • Mikolo: 2 x 2 in, 13 gauge; 85.8 in tall; 19.7 in from the wall; folds to 2 in; 1,000 lb per the listing; stringer, pull-up bar, UHMW J-cups, safety catches and a landmine included

Who it suits: Apartment and spare-room lifters whose squats and presses stay in the low hundreds and who want everything in one box.

The trade-off: Thinner steel flexes more and takes fewer attachments; Synergee’s own spec sheet and FAQ disagree on hole spacing, and the Mikolo listing gives two different warranty lengths. The Upright Stiffness Calculator shows how much 16 gauge 2 x 2 gives up to 11 gauge 3 x 3.

Check on Amazon

What to check before you buy a folding rack

  1. Find the studs and measure their spacing. PRx needs 16 or 24 inch centers; everyone else wants a stringer if yours are off. A $20 stud finder and a 2 x 10 board solve most walls.
  2. Decide the depth from how you bail. If you dump squats forward, the 41 inch version gives you somewhere to go. If you only rack and re-rack, 21 inches is enough and folds flatter.
  3. Measure the ceiling at the rack, not the room. Garage door tracks and openers sit lower than the ceiling. Add pull-up clearance to the upright height.
  4. Budget for safeties. Only the Mikolo includes them. Spotter arms for a 3 x 3 inch rack run $100 to $200 extra.
  5. Check attachment fit before you plan add-ons. Upright size and hole diameter decide it: 3 x 3 inch with 5/8 inch holes (Rogue, PRx) share the widest range; 2 x 3 inch Titan uses 11/16 inch; 2 x 2 inch racks take their own brand only. Our upright size guide and the fit checker cover this.
  6. Leave the folded rack room to swing. A 41 inch rack needs 41 inches of clear wall to either side when it folds sideways (REP) or clear floor in front when it folds in.

If a folding rack still will not fit, the alternatives are a short full cage from our power racks under $500 comparison, or squat stands, which the budget home gym guide covers. For a room that has to hold a rack, a bench and a bar at once, see how to set up a home gym in a 10 x 10 space.

Folding squat rack FAQ

Can you mount a folding squat rack on drywall?

No. Every rack here needs wood studs or a stringer lagged into studs, or masonry with the maker’s approved anchors. Drywall anchors are not rated for a loaded rack.

Do I need a stringer for a folding rack?

PRx and Rogue mount directly to studs if the spacing matches their brackets. REP, Bells of Steel, Synergee and Titan expect a stringer, and only the Mikolo includes one. A stringer is also the fix for odd stud spacing.

How much weight can a folding squat rack hold?

Published ratings run from 600 lb (Bells of Steel, static) to 1,100 lb (Titan T-3 Folding). Rogue does not publish a number for the RML-3W or R-3W. The wall and the install matter as much as the rating.

How far does a folding rack stick out when folded?

2 inches (Mikolo), 4 inches (PRx), under 5 inches (Rogue, Titan), 5.25 inches (Synergee), 6 inches (REP 21.5 inch). REP’s 41 inch version folds sideways and stays 24 inches out.

Can you do kipping pull-ups on a folding rack?

Rogue and PRx sell them with pull-up bars and heavy lifters use them for strict pull-ups daily. Kipping loads the wall brackets in shear and most makers do not rate for it; ask the maker and use a stringer and all four studs if you plan to.

Folding rack or a short power cage?

A cage stands on its own, includes safeties and takes any ceiling it fits under. A folding rack wins only when the floor has to be clear for a car or a room. If the floor can stay taken, a $400 cage is simpler.

Which folding rack takes the most attachments?

The Rogue RML-3W (Monster Lite) and PRx Profile PRO, both 3 x 3 inch with 5/8 inch holes. The REP PR-4100 is 3 x 3 inch but does not publish its hole size; REP lists its own attachments for it.